Riza Aziz rejected

Four producers managed to make the shortlist for the "Wolf of Wall Street" Oscar consideration.

24 Jan – The Academy has decided to throw out its rules in regards to Martin Scorsese's "The Wolf of Wall Street" and allow four of the film's producers to be eligible for the Oscar consideration.

The four producers are Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Joey McFarland and Emma Tillinger Koskoff.

Previously, the Academy's rules limit the number of producers on a film to be eligible for an Oscar to three. A film can have three or fewer producers, but the producers branch executive committee "has the right, in what it determines to be a rare and extraordinary circumstance, to name any additional qualified producer as a nominee."

When Oscar nominations were announced on 16 January, "The Wolf of Wall Street" was listed as a Best Picture nominee with the note that the individual producers had yet to be determined.

Riza Aziz (far left) with actor Leonardo DiCaprio, Margot Robbie, Jonah Hill and co-producer Joey McFarland.

There is still a fifth producer, Riza Aziz, who is McFarland's partner in Red Granite Pictures and the stepson of Malaysia's Prime Minister Najib Razak. According to the company's press statement, "We are thrilled that the Academy has recognized the invaluable contributions of Marty, Leo, Joey and Emma on behalf of "The Wolf Of Wall Street". Riza Aziz and Red Granite remain honoured to be part of the production team."

Although Riza Aziz is not included for Oscar consideration, he was nominated together with the producer team for the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures, which is the equivalent of the Academy Awards for Best Picture.

The 86th Academy Awards ceremony will take place on 2 March at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center.

Related Links: