Jennifer Lopez, Robert De Niro among Oscar snubs of 2020

Yeah, fans aren't happy about you being snubbed either, J.Lo.

14 Jan – Jennifer Lopez, Robert De Niro, Taron Egerton, Awkwafina – these are some of the names that were visibly absent from the list of nominations for Oscars 2020.

Despite being nominated in the recent Golden Globes, neither Lopez nor Awkwafina received an Oscar nod for their respective role in "Hustlers" and "The Farewell". It is especially surprising considering Awkwafina recently made history as the first Asian actress to win Golden Globes' Best Actress in A Musical or Comedy award.

Similarly, Egerton, who was nominated for the male counterpart of the aforementioned award, did not get a single Oscar nomination for his starring role in "Rocketman".

As for De Niro, while "The Irishman" receives 10 nominations, none is for the actor. His co-stars Al Pacino and Joe Pesci, however, were both nominated for Best Supporting Actor again, same as they did in the recent Golden Globes.

On the lighter side of things, "Parasite" has successfully burrowed deep into the nominees list as it became the 11th foreign language movie to be nominated for Best Picture. It also receives nomination for Best International Feature Film, the first for South Korea, making it only the sixth movie to have been simultaneously nominated for both categories.

A foreign-language movie has never won the Oscar for Best Picture before but
"Parasite" just might break that.

Another remarkable note for this year's Oscars is the fact that a total of four movies managed to garner 10 nominations or more. The highest number of nominations goes to "Joker" with 11, followed by "1917", "The Irishman" and "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood" that received 10 each.

Below is the complete list of nominees for the 92nd Academy Awards, which will be held this 10 February at Dolby Theatre, Los Angeles:

Best Picture
"Ford v Ferrari"
"The Irishman"
"Jojo Rabbit"
"Little Women"
"Marriage Story"
"Once Upon A Time In Hollywood"

Best Actress in A Leading Role
Cynthia Erivo, "Harriet"
Scarlett Johansson, "Marriage Story"
Saoirse Ronan, "Little Women"
Charlize Theron, "Bombshell"
Renée Zellweger, "Judy"

Best Actor in A Leading Role
Antonio Banderas, "Pain and Glory"
Leonardo DiCaprio, "Once Upon A Time in Hollywood"
Adam Driver, "Marriage Story"
Joaquin Phoenix, "Joker"
Jonathan Pryce, "The Two Popes"

Best Actress in A Supporting Role
Kathy Bates, "Richard Jewell"
Laura Dern, "Marriage Story"
Scarlett Johansson, "Jojo Rabbit"
Florence Pugh, "Little Women"
Margot Robbie, "Bombshell"

Best Actor in A Supporting Role
Tom Hanks, "A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood"
Joe Pesci, "The Irishman"
Anthony Hopkins, "The Two Popes"
Al Pacino, "The Irishman"
Brad Pitt, "Once Upon A Time in Hollywood"

Best Directing
Martin Scorsese, "The Irishman"
Todd Phillips, "Joker"
Sam Mendes, "1917"
Quentin Tarantino, "Once Upon A Time in Hollywood"
Bong Joon Ho, "Parasite"

Best Animated Feature Film
"How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World"
"I Lost My Body"
"Missing Link"
"Toy Story 4"

Best Cinematography
"The Irishman", Rodrigo Prieto
"Joker", Lawrence Sher
"The Lighthouse", Jarin Blaschke
"1917", Roger Deakins
"Once Upon A Time in Hollywood", Robert Richardson

Best Costume Design
"The Irishman", Sandy Powell and Christopher Peterson
"Jojo Rabbit", Mayes C. Rubeo
"Joker", Mark Bridges
"Little Women", Jacqueline Durran
"Once Upon A Time in Hollywood", Arianne Phillips

Best Documentary (Feature)
"American Factory", Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert and Jeff Reichert
"The Cave", Feras Fayyad, Kirstine Barfod and Sigrid Dyekjær
"The Edge of Democracy", Petra Costa, Joanna Natasegara, Shane Boris and Tiago Pavan
"For Sama", Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts
"Honeyland", Ljubo Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska and Atanas Georgiev

Best Documentary (Short Subject)
"In the Absence", Yi Seung-Jun and Gary Byung-Seok Kam
"Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You're A Girl)", Carol Dysinger and Elena Andreicheva
"Life Overtakes Me", John Haptas and Kristine Samuelson
"St. Louis Superman", Smriti Mundhra and Sami Khan
"Walk Run Cha-Cha", Laura Nix and Colette Sandstedt

Best Film Editing
"Ford v Ferrari", Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland
"The Irishman", Thelma Schoonmaker
"Jojo Rabbit", Tom Eagles
"Joker", Jeff Groth
"Parasite", Yang Jinmo

Best International Feature Film
"Corpus Christi" (Poland)
"Honeyland" (North Marcedonia)
"Les Misérables" (France)
"Pain and Glory" (Spain)
"Parasite" (South Korea)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
"Bombshell", Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan and Vivian Baker
"Joker", Nicki Ledermann and Kay Georgiou
"Judy", Jeremy Woodhead
"Maleficent: Mistress of Evil", "Judy", Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten and David White
"1917", Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis and Rebecca Cole

Best Music (Original Score)
"Joker", Hildur Guðnadóttir
"Little Women", Alexandre Desplat
"Marriage Story", Randy Newman
"1917", Thomas Newman
"Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker", John Williams

Best Music (Original Song)
"I Can't Let You Throw Yourself Away" ("Toy Story 4"), Music and Lyric by Randy Newman
"(I'm Gonna) Love Me Again" ("Rocketman"), Music by Elton John, Lyric by Bernie Taupin
"I'm Standing With You" ("Breakthrough"), Music and Lyric by Diane Warren
"Into the Unknown" ("Frozen 2"), Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
"Stand Up" ("Harriet"), Music and Lyric by Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo

Best Production Design
"The Irishman"
"Jojo Rabbit"
"Once Upon A Time in Hollywood"

Best Short Film (Animated)
"Dcera (Daughter)", Daria Kashcheeva
"Hair Love", Matthew A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver
"Kitbull", Rosana Sullivan and Kathryn Hendrickson
"Memorable", Bruno Collet and Jean-François Le Corre
"Sister", Siqi Song

Best Short Film (Live Action)
"Brotherhood", Meryam Joobeur and Maria Gracia Turgeon
"Nefta Football Club", Yves Piat and Damien Megherbi
"The Neighbor's Window", Marshall Curry
"Saria", Bryan Buckley and Matt Lefebvre
"A Sister", Delphine Girard

Best Sound Editing
"Ford v Ferrari", Donald Sylvester
"Joker", Alan Robert Murray
"1917", Oliver Tarney and Rachael Tate
"Once Upon A Time in Hollywood", Wylie Stateman
"Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker", Matthew Wood and David Acord

Best Sound Mixing
"Ad Astra", Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson and Mark Ulano
"Ford v Ferrari", Paul Massey, David Giammarco and Steven A. Morrow
"Joker", Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic and Tod Maitland
"1917", Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson
"Once Upon A Time in Hollywood", Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler and Mark Ulano

Best Visual Effects
"Avengers: Endgame", Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken and Dan Sudick
"The Irishman", Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser and Stephane Grabli
"The Lion King", Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Elliot Newman
"1917", Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler and Dominic Tuohy
"Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker", Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach and Dominic Tuohy

Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
"The Irishman", Steven Zaillian
"Jojo Rabbit", Taika Waititi
"Joker", Todd Phillips and Scott Silver
"Little Women", Greta Gerwig
"The Two Popes", Anthony McCarten

Best Writing (Original Screenplay)
"Knives Out", Rian Johnson
"Marriage Story", Noah Baumbach
"1917", Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns
"Once Upon A Time in Hollywood", Quentin Tarantino
"Parasite", Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won

Related Movies:
1917 (09 Jan 2020)
Once Upon A Time In Hollywood (15 Aug 2019)
Parasite (Korean) (27 Jun 2019)
Knives Out (28 Nov 2019)
Frozen 2 (21 Nov 2019)
Ford v Ferrari (14 Nov 2019)
Ad Astra (19 Sep 2019)
Jojo Rabbit (02 Jan 2020)
The Lion King (18 Jul 2019)
Missing Link (11 Apr 2019)
Toy Story 4 (20 Jun 2019)
Avengers: Endgame (24 Apr 2019)
Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker (19 Dec 2019)

Dailymotion article page COSG

Related Links: